Sydney Art – Paddington Galleries

colour wheel

 

All I want is pop/street art, some inventive sculpture and contemporary pictures that tell me a story. I’m a philistine I’m sure, but I know what I like.

 

I made it around 22 Paddington Galleries on Saturday and I was rather disappointed that the general standard seemed to strive for traditionalist values. There was relatively little to shake up the senses which I was genuinely surprised by as I had expected that with an area as vibrant as Paddington I’d be spoilt for choice. Having said this, every gallery had something of interest, even if it was just the eccentric owner or the promise of future artists that would suit my palette, if you’ll excuse the pun. Perhaps it’s the volume of galleries that means they take what they’re given, the best of the bunch as far as they’re concerned. If this is so, then there’s a great opportunity to persuade some of these galleries to take a chance with something just a little bit different. I’d like them to take a leaf out of the MCA’s book and push things forward but at the same time sell affordable work that is accessible. It may sound like I’m just moaning or wanting my cake and eating it too but I’d seen enough pictures of birds and kangaroos to last a lifetime.

 

Personal favourites were the Blender Gallery for its lomo shop, the Stills Gallery for some really interesting photography, Sullivan & Strumpf as posted and the Sherman Galleries.

Leave a Reply

